Chiringa Platoon Wins Senior Steeplechase Competition for the Year 2020

The Chiringa platoon were adjudged the best platoon for this year’s inter-platoon senior steeplechase competition for cadets of Regular Career Course Intake 60 (RCC 60) and Short Service Commission and Special Duties Intake 58 (SSC/SD 58) on Friday 4 September 2020 at the Ghana Military Academy at Teshie.

The Chiringa platoon recorded a total point of 2320. The Burma and Abyssinia platoon took the second and the third positions with total points of 2428 and 2539 respectfully.

The Guest of Honour, Brig Gen Matthew Essien, Commander Support Services Brigade Group in his address stated that, he was happy to be associated with the steeplechase competition because he considered physical fitness and mental endurance as one of the essential qualities of a leader.

He noted that one of the core objectives of the steeplechase event was to inculcate into the Officer Cadet the values of determination, endurance, team work and esprit-de-corps under trying conditions.

He told the Cadets that what they had acquired during the competition was an essential part of their training and assured them that as future commanders, their subordinates would look up to them at a time when their endurance and mental capacities had been stretched to their limit and it was at such time that benefits of steeplechase training comes in handy.

Brig Gen Essien congratulated the Cadets for the spectacular display of will-power and sportsmanship exhibited throughout the competition. He also urged them to continue training even after their graduation from the Academy in order to remain fit in the discharge of their duties as officers.

The senior steeplechase course is laid on a circuit of 12 kilometers through difficult terrain at the end of which competitors will be expected to clear a chain of obstacles comprising horizontal ladder, 2-feet 4-feet bars, ascending and descending ramps. The rest of the obstacle were vertical and horizontal robe climbing, tunnel crossing and heave ups to the chest 4 times before reporting to the finishing point.

Some awards were presented to competitors who performed creditably during the competition. S/Cdt Ennor Alphonsus Kwaw Ndabia received the overall best runner award after completing the 12 kilometer race with a record time of 54 minutes 54 seconds. S/Cdt Darko Asantewah Betty was adjudged the best female runner award with a record time of one hour six minutes.  The second runner up award went to S/Cdt Aggrey JB with the first runner up award going to SUO Grant Orbil. All the award winners received certificates of merit, products from Star Life Assurance Company Limited and a trophy.